An open letter to Mumbai

Dear Mumbai,

I write this letter to you with what should have been a heavy heart. I will be leaving you soon – the time and date, not certain. Why you ask? Well, Mumbai, in simple words, you failed to be a hospitable host to me.

4 years ago, you called me here and promised me a life of carefree fun. You promised to protect me and give me shelter whenever I needed it. You promised me freedom. More importantly, you promised never to hurt me.

Since then it’s only been hardships for me. I’ve dealt with a lot of crap you’ve thrown at me. I’ve dealt with it silently and patiently, but I don’t have the energy to put up with it for much longer.

While I probably won’t look back when I walk away, I will always remember the good times we’ve had. Remember that time you shaded me from the afternoon sun and the many times you showered your blessings on me, saving me from scorching heat? I will carry these with me, and perhaps one day I will be able to look back, and only see the good. Let me not forget to say that you’ve contributed to a large part of my growth, and while it was an exceptional way to do so, I’ve been waiting for the day you’d go easy on me, but alas! It never came.

I know there have been times I’ve cursed you and threatened to leave you, but the connection is what held me back. While I still can’t disregard the connection, I’ve mustered the courage to support myself, and make my own life – somewhere else.

Mumbai, you’ve got to get your act together, else it’s almost certain that you’ll lose me forever. Give me something to look forward to, something for me to return to.

When others talk about you, they talk about the glitz and glamour – Mumbai, you know you are deeper than that – perhaps you’ve simply been afraid to portray that side. Why do you always try to impress people? Believe me, Mumbai, show your true beauty, and you’ll attract the real ones – the ones who won’t spit on you, throw garbage on you, and take you for granted. Sure, there would be fewer people then, but god knows you need that.

For now, I know we need this time apart – to salvage the bond we have made.

Take care of yourself, Mumbai.

Until we meet again.

2 thoughts on “An open letter to Mumbai

  1. I agree Mumbai will always have a love -hate relationship with me as well as I have nothing that attracts me back to mumbai apart from my friends and somes family its not home anyimore. Mumbai has given me so much and I love it but not enough substanour to keep me there. Enjoy your new beginning faye you deserve it. Do like what you write!!!

Tell me what you think

