My Week In Music

Without music life would be a mistake.  ~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

It doesn’t matter if you’ve had a bad day, a terrible day, or even a happy one, there is always a song that you can enjoy and relate to at the moment. As the tune plays out, and the words echo in your head, you get lost, only to rise up refreshed. That’s the power of music – it can comfort you when you’re sad, hold your tears as it falls, bring a spring to your step when you’re happy, and can even make you feel like you’re perfectly lonely.

I’ve noted down the top songs that have been playing on loop on the iPod. Hope you enjoy!

1.       Pearl Jam – Wishlist

“I wish I was a sailor with someone who waited for me…I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good… I wish I was the verb to trust and never let you down.”

I have a near-crazy obsession with Eddie Vedder and I can get lost in his voice, but what got me hooked onto this track were the lyrics.

What do you wish for?

2.       Pink – Glitter in the Air

“Have you ever wished for an endless night? Lassoed the moon and the stars and pulled that rope tight?”

I can’t say that I’ve liked Pink, or many of her songs – they were too loud for me. With this track, her mellowness is what surprised me. Each line of the song takes me back in time; and before I knew it, I was singing along.

Have you ever felt this way?

3.       John Mayer – Shadow Days

“I’m a good man with a good heart; Had a tough time, got a rough start.”

Mayer has kept me company on several occasions, but as with so many of his songs, I can relate to this one. There are always rough days, but I finally learned to let it go.

Are your shadow days over?

4.       Train – Feels Good At First

“…every spring has a honey bee that stings… every fire get too close and it reminds you
Things can change in love.”

I initially got hooked onto this song because of the tune – it’s a perky tune, without being too perky. No matter how bad you’ve been hurt in your relationship, if it meant something for even a micro-second, this song will take you back to that honeymoon time of your relationship, cos it sure feels good at first.

Who did you think about?

5.       Other Lives – Black Tables

“When the life in your eyes wants black; Things return; You’ve come back.”

The opening tune of the track has a haunting feeling that draws you in. That’s exactly what drew me to the song. As the song progresses, the slow beats drag you in, and before you know it, it’s on loop!

Tell me what you think

